The Prague Subway System


The metro first opened in 1974 and it has been operating ever since. After the Velvet Revolution, a most of previously existing stations were renamed to be politically neutral. The trains of Soviet origin were gradually replaced with the new types of trains. In 2002, the metro was severely damaged by heavy flooding; it was fully restored after almost a year.

The Prague Metro has three lines, each represented by its own colour on the maps and signs:

  • Line A (green, 17 stations, 17 km),
  • Line B (yellow, 24 stations, 26 km)
  • Line C (red, 20 stations, 22 km).
Prague Underground Tours - Starting point