One of the best preserved Romanesque houses in Prague is located in close vicinity to the so called Royal Route. It was built in the period between the 2nd half of the 12th century and the 1st half of the 13th century.
The house was also called the Bočkovský House, as in 1406 it was owned by Boček of Kunštát, uncle of Jiří of Poděbrady, who had the house rebuilt and elevated by one storey. Jiří of Poděbrady took over the palace from him in 1451.
The house was rebuilt in Classicist style by architect Kašpar Předák in 1846.
The object was opened for public in 1970. There used to be a Commemorative Hall of Jiří of Poděbrady (abolished). The National Conservationist Institute had its offices in this house from the 1950s on. The house gradually dilapidated. Following several years of reconstruction, the magistrate established eight above-standard flats here, which even have original girder painted ceilings. Regarding the unique ground-floor and basement areas with significant Romanesque elements, there has been a café and a gallery U Kunštátů since 2012.